Home > Azure > Getting started with Azure and Visual Studio 2013

Getting started with Azure and Visual Studio 2013

In this post I am going to talk about how to get started with Windows Azure using Visual studio 2013 RC1 and hope to share some cool stuff of Windows Azure Cloud Services.

First step you have to do before you can start using the Azure Cloud Services is to register your windows live account with Azure Portal. Once you have registered yourself log in using this account into the Windows Management Portal.

Next thing we need to do is to create a website and I am going to create a website name prashantbrall.azurewebsites.net as shown below.

Now the website is ready and let’s have a quick look at the empty website.

Nothing special a simple empty website template.Now in order to get profile of this published website go to the dashboard page of the Azure Management Portal and download the publish profile.

Lets save this profile setting file locally and start with File > New Project in Visual Studio 2013.

The first thing you will notice is that all the different web application types are gone and this is what the One ASP.Net looks like. This also means that there is no differentiation between ASP.NET webforms ,ASP.NET MVC and it won’t sound horrible if you want to build hybrid web application i.e. ASP.NET webform and MVC in the same application.

Lets go ahead create a new web application and I’ll use the MVC template.

Now my solution is set and in order to publish this site on azure I need to import the profile which I download from the dashboard page.Right click on the project and click Publish> Import as shown below.

With this the profile is now imported and all the deployment information is in my solution. Just click “Publish” and the web publishing wizard will work out what are the difference between this deployment and the previous one. Since this is our first deployment it will have all the assemblies and dependencies in the deployment package.

As you can see the deployment has started and the cloud address where it is trying to deploy the package.

Lets make some changes to the content of the sample website and layout and redeploy the package and as I do that the wizard will work out the delta changes to my deployment and shows the differences.

This is pretty cool as you can see it even tells me which view I have changed since the last build.

 

And now my website is up and running and can be viewed at here.

Last thing I wanted to mention is that when I created a new website in Visual Studio 2013 it uses the Twitter BootStrap layout and CSS design for the website which gives a very nice look and has a very nice responsive design.If we view my website on Responsinator it shows how responsive and mobile friendly my website is and how it hides some menu items for mobile friendly look.

Happy Azurring !!!!

  1. Rahul Shidid
    October 29, 2013 at 9:41 am

    Hey Prashant,

    This is Rahul Shidid…remember?

    Regards,
    Rahul

  2. Lilliana
    September 9, 2014 at 8:41 pm

    Hello! I’ve been reading your blog for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out. Just wanted to tell you keep up the great work!

  3. EQ
    October 31, 2014 at 4:36 am

    I am really inspired along with your writing abilities and also with the layout on your blog. Is that this a paid subject matter or did you modify it your self? Anyway stay up the excellent high quality writing, it is uncommon to peer a nice blog like this one today..

    • November 7, 2014 at 6:54 am

      I hope with this new inspiration you will start blogging and contribute good content to internet.

  4. AJ
    November 6, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    I don’t even understand how I ended up right here, however I assumed this put up was good. I don’t recognise who you might be but definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger in the event you are not already. Cheers!

    • November 7, 2014 at 6:50 am

      Thanks AJ it’s comments like this makes me blog more and I hope to continue writing good post.

  1. April 27, 2014 at 8:21 am

Leave a Reply

